Home Up About Us Events Donate


Catnip and Carrots Animal Bunch is a nonprofit organization dedicated to cats & rabbits (and the occasional canine)!
      We specialize in animal welfare, spay/neuter/microchip education & referrals, lost & found services & on occasion,
as funds allow, we offer veterinary assistance to at-risk pets of low income senior or disabled families.

Home
Up
California AB 1634

CALIFORNIA PET LAW



Sacramento State House

Below is a short synopsis of basic California and Orange County pet laws

Pet Limit - Huntington Beach

3 cats and 3 dogs

Stray, Found or Dead Animal

Call the Service Request Line at 714-935-6848 and Orange County Animal Care Services will pick it up. They will pick up a cat that has strayed onto your property, if you have it confined. You may use a pillowcase, a box or "have a heart" trap.

Animal Cruelty Fines

California law carries no distinction between intentional or unintentional cruelty, torture or simple neglect; considered a misdemeanor; no more than $2500 and/or 6 months in jail.

Report Abuse

In Orange County, contact Operations at HCA Animal Care Services (714) 935-6942 Monday-Friday, 7:30am to 3:30pm

Animal Licensing Info

Orange County law requires all dogs over 4 months of age have a valid license that must be worn at all times. Rabies vaccines are also required before a license can be issued. Cat licensing is optional and recommended. These rates are good through June 30, 2008. These may soon change for Huntington Beach residents.

  • $95.00 for un-sterilized dogs, including senior owners age 65+.
  • $11.50 for sterilized dogs, senior owners age 65+
  • $23.00 for sterilized dogs
  • $5.00   all cats, sterilized or un-sterilized (optional)
  •  $32.00 Late Fee (per dog)
  • $67.00 non-compliance
  • See OC Pet Info for all licensing information

Lost Pet Search

A service of Orange County Animal Care Services

Shelter Holding Periods (Cat and Dog)

State law requires that dogs not wearing a current license tag be held for 72 hours (3 days) to give the owner chance to reclaim the animal. Dogs that are wearing a current license must be held for a period up to 14 days. Shelter staff will attempt to contact, by phone, or certified mail to the last known address, the owner as listed on the license registration. Animals entering the shelter are also scanned for microchips. If a microchip is detected, the owner is contacted.

It is important to keep all identification current so you can be reached as soon as your animal is found.

There is NO state law allowing for a holding period for cats.

Kittens under 8 weeks of age are subject to immediate euthanasia.

For more information, please contact Animal Care Services (the Orange County Shelter)                    

561 The City Drive South, Orange, CA 92868   (714) 935-6848 8am-5pm or (714) 935-7158 5pm-8am 24/7

Email them at: ocpetinfo@ochca.com   Their website is: www.ocpetinfo.com.

 

Home Up News Shelters & Rescues Spay/Neuter Microchips Adoption Assistance Lost & Found Animal Care Newsletters Funny Tails Disaster Preparedness Rainbow Bridge Your Voice Housing/Travel Volunteering Pet License Plates Our Veterinarians Tee Shirts Links Contact Us

Send mail to webmaster@catnipandcarrots.org with any questions or comments about this web site. We appreciate the feedback!
Copyright 2009 Catnip and Carrots Animal Bunch, Inc.  Please, no reproduction of photos without express written authorization!
BEST VIEWED IN INTERNET EXPLORER 6.0 or better
Last modified: December 01, 2009